EVERYTHING Gluten-Free at Church’s Chicken in 2022

Churches Chicken is loved for so many things but no one can compete with their extra crunchy and extra delicious fried chicken.

Fried chicken is an easy and simple Friday night dinner for those who want to kick back and relax, without having to decide what to eat for dinner but that does pose the question, are there any gluten-free options at Churches Chicken?

Churches chicken does not have an extensive menu when it comes to gluten-free options but lucky for us, they do offer a nutritional guideline indicating the possible allergens each menu item contains.

The majority of the items contain wheat, such as original wings or spicy legs but it is important to note that not every item that contains wheat, contains gluten.

This can often create apprehension and concern amongst those suffering from celiac disease, that is why it is recommended to opt for the options that do not contain wheat. 

If you are gluten intolerant or suffer from celiac disease, it is best to communicate with the restaurant manager about your dietary preferences.

In a franchise that does not disclose what items on the menu contain gluten or not, they should advise you than for you to guess.

There is always a possibility of cross-contamination between allergens, regardless of the strict protocols they have in place to prevent it from happening. 

Continue reading for an in-depth overview of all the wheat-free and gluten-free options at Churches Chicken.

Church’s Chicken Gluten-Free Options

This post may contain affiliate links, which help keep this content free. (Full disclosure)

Church’s Chicken Gluten-Free Options

Churches Chicken was founded in San Antonio in Texas, in 1952. This American Fast Food restaurant specializes in fried chicken. 

Not only are they loved their delicious fried chicken, but they are also amended for the preparation of their food and the bold flavors that are incorporated into their meals!

Please note that the wheat-free items are subject to the franchise you go to and it would be highly advised to speak to the restaurant manager before ordering a gluten-free meal as they don’t openly disclose whether their meals contain gluten or not, only wheat and other allergens.

Any item on the menu that does not contain wheat would be the safest option when eating at Churches Chicken.  

Disclaimer: Not all wheat contains gluten but it is important to note that there is a possibility it could. Items on the menu containing bread are better off being avoided. 

ALSO READ: Are All Smoothies at Tropical Smoothie Cafe Gluten-Free?

Main courses (Contain Wheat) 

  • Original wing, leg, thigh, or breast 
  • Spicy wing, leg, thigh, breast 
  • Texas tender original 
  • Texas tender bold and spicy 
  • Chicken fried steak with gravy 

Side (Contain Wheat) 

  • Mashed potatoes 
  • Okra 
  • French fries alternate 
  • Baked macaroni and cheese 
  • Jalapeño cheese bombers 
  • Honey butter biscuits 
  • Dinner rolls 

Sides (Excluding Wheat) 

  • Corn 
  • Coleslaw 
  • French fries 
  • Spicy rice 
  • Jalapeño pepper 

Sauces (Excluding Wheat) 

All except White Gravy 

Desserts (Contain Wheat) 

Unfortunately, every dessert item on the menu contains wheat. It is recommended to rather avoid these as it is unclear whether they will contain gluten or not. It is always better to be safe than sorry!

RECOMMENDED: Freddy’s Frozen Custards Gluten-Free Options

Breakfast – Main Courses (Contain wheat) 

  • Breakfast biscuit 
  • Chicken biscuit 
  • Bacon, egg, cheese biscuit 
  • Sausage, egg, cheese biscuit 
  • Steak biscuit 
  • Sausage and gravy biscuit 
  • Cinnamon swirl 

Breakfast – Sides (Excluding Wheat) 

Every breakfast option on the menu is wheat and gluten-free, except for the hash rounds, so you can enjoy a wonderful coffee and breakfast stress-free!

Tips For A Gluten-Free Meal At Church’s Chicken

In this day and age, it is easier than ever to eat out on a gluten-free diet. The majority of the restaurants and fast-food chains accommodate those with specific dietary preferences.

That does not mean that it is not possible to run into some trouble when ordering a gluten-free meal at a particular restaurant or franchise, especially for those very sensitive to even the slightest trace of gluten.

Below you will find some tips you can take into consideration before deciding what restaurant you want to eat at to determine whether they are gluten-free friendly or not.

Choose An Appropriate Restaurant 

Researching restaurants that have a gluten-free menu is a great place to start since the staff members and restaurant managers have been trained in how to keep the ingredients and meals free from cross-contamination and remain gluten-free.

It is always better to go to a restaurant that akes their food from scratch, rather than in masses as it is easier for them to accidentally cross-contaminate allergens with one another.

However, if there is a particular meal at a restaurant that you are craving, communicate with the restaurant manager for peace of mind.

Speak To The Chef Or Restaurant Manager

Broken telephone can often be the reason your meal gets traces of gluten in it. When the waiter is trying to converse between you and the chef to deliver meal specifications, it is most likely going to cause trouble. 

Rather, go speak to the chef or restaurant manager directly and express your concerns and dietary preferences.

This way the person in control of cooking the meal has a clear understanding of what is required and there will be less room for mistakes to occur. 

Address Cross-Contamination Concerns With The Chef

The majority of the issues with gluten-free meals don’t start with the meal containing gluten but are more likely traces of gluten being found in the food (i.e., cross-contamination).

Busy staff members in a kitchen have to use the same preparation surfaces to get the meals out on time which can cause mix-ups and trouble. 

Some restaurants do have a separate space for preparing allergen-free meals but not every restaurant has that luxury, and it is important to keep this in mind.

To be safe be clear about what it is you expect of the chef and their workers, including things like washing their hands and changing gloves between meals and avoiding using shared grill surfaces to make a meal are all important aspects they should know that may affect you. 

Additionally, inform your server that your meal should be kept away from the rolls, break, or ready-made sandwiches as these ingredients can cause cross-contamination between meals.

If You Are Questioning It, Don’t Eat It 

To put it simply, if you are unsure and none of the staff are making the decision easier – don’t eat it. In most restaurants, you will be able to eat comfortably and stress-free but there are some instances where staff members are clueless and cannot confirm nor deny whether a meal is 110% gluten-free or not.  

Cross Contamination Risk

There is no clear allergen disclaimer and statement from Churches Chicken indicating whether they are aware of cross-contamination and the consequences it has.

Cross-contamination is when a particular allergen gets transferred to another, by mistake. This is more likely to occur in more fast-paced, high-demand restaurants and kitchen areas, so keep this in mind when going to eat somewhere. 

For instance, when your wheat-free french fries are cooked in the same oil as the alternate french fries that contain wheat, cross-contamination can occur putting you at more risk. 

Thus, at Churches Chicken, it is best to steer away from the items on the menu that contain wheat and opt for the wheat-free items.

This way there is less risk of you getting sick by accidentally eating a wheat meal that contained gluten. 

If at any point, you do not feel comfortable with the staff members’ reassurance or the restaurant manager’s knowledge on the subject, it is best to skip the meal and go eat elsewhere. 

What People Are Saying?

We have researched and sourced several different reviews on the internet about Churches Chicken and whether or not they offer gluten-free options. 

Unfortunately, the majority of the research has shown that Churches’ Chicken doesn’t offer full gluten-free meals, only wheat-free options which are found on their breakfast side and main meal side menu.

So if you want a small snack or a place to go for breakfast, Perhaps Churches chicken is the place for you! However, many customers have mentioned how delicious their food is and how great the service is.

This is always a bonus when eating out, it can make communication and understanding a lot easier when it comes to explaining dietary preferences. 

To conclude, the majority of the reviews have been positive regarding Churches Chicken and the quality of their food, but unfortunately, there is very little information on how their gluten-free and wheat-free sides are. 

Gluten-Free Alternatives To Church’s Chicken

Subway

Subway is an amazing fast food restaurant that offers an allergen and nutrition chart that lists all the regular items containing these allergens. 

The good news is that majority of Subways salads are gluten-free, except for the following: 

  • Meatball marinara
  • Seafood sensation 
  • Sweet onion teriyaki 

But other than that, all the salad dressings appear to be gluten-free.

It is important to avoid obvious ingredients that contain gluten such as croutons and desserts but otherwise, they are fairly gluten-free friendly when it comes to these meals.

Additionally, like in every other restaurant, you should always inform the waiter of your gluten allergy or sensitivity.

McDonalds 

Much to contrary belief, if you remove the burger and opt to have a Mcdonald’s burger wrapped in lettuce, you too can have a gluten-free burger at Mcdonald’s. Other gluten-free options that they have is: 

  • A variety of salads
  • A McFlurry with M&Ms
  • A fruit and yogurt parfait 

However, when ordering from this fast-food restaurant it is important to remind yourself that the risk for cross-contamination is high due to the face-paced environment and shared preparation surfaces for the meals.

However, there is no doubt that the gluten-free options that they have are a great place to start!

Chick-Fil-A

This restaurant has a few more gluten-free options on the menu compared to the previous two and they are a lot more conscious about their preparation surfaces and cross-contamination. 

Chick-Fil-A’s waffle potato fries are cooked in separate oil from the standard gluten-containing friends and their breaded chicken.

Additionally, here you can enjoy grilled chicken and the grilled chicken nuggets guilt-free as they are also gluten-free, just make it clear that you do not want the breaded nuggets and grilled chicken because that contains gluten.

Unlike any other fast-food chain, Chick-Fil-A has also introduced a gluten-free bun, meaning you can have a grilled chicken burger with pure enjoyment and satisfaction!